Pueblo Careless Driving Lawyer
The state of Colorado has established careless driving as a crime charged as a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. It is an extremely broad law that encompasses driving in a “careless and imprudent manner” and “without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances.” If you are charged with careless driving, you are at risk for various penalties. It is important to understand that you are charged with a crime.
If you attempt to fight the ticket alone, you will not have any assistance. You might be confused about the process or penalties, think that the court will help, that the judge will throw the ticket out, that the prosecutor is your friend, or that the police officer won’t show up because you read it somewhere online. These are all false assumptions. You will need the professional services of a skilled attorney who has a thorough understanding of the law, the court system that will be overseeing your case, and how to increase your chances of avoiding or reducing the consequences of this charge.
Serving Pueblo and the counties of Huerfano, El Paso, Crowley, Otero, Bent, and Fremont.
The penalties for careless driving can range depending on the circumstances of the ticket itself.
In county court, the following penalties apply:
- Careless driving ticket without serious bodily injury: punishable up to ninety (90) days in jail and/or fines of up to $300.
- Careless driving ticket with serious bodily injury: Punishable up to one year in jail and/or a fine up to $1000.
- 4 points against your driver’s license.
In municipal court, the following penalties apply:
- Careless driving tickets in a municipal court may be punished with up to one year in jail regardless of the circumstances.
- The fines vary. Most municipal courts are capped at a $1,000 maximum fine and others, like Aurora Municipal Court, are up to $2,650.
- 4 Points against your license.
How Your Life Can Be Impacted by a Careless Driving Conviction
If you are convicted (found guilty or plead guilty) of careless driving in Colorado, your life can be impacted in the following ways:
- You might be put in jail if the judge thinks it is appropriate.
- You will now have a criminal record based on a misdemeanor conviction.
- You might lose your license if you have too many points on your driving record.
- Your insurance will probably increase for a minimum of three years.
- Your auto insurance carrier may drop your policy.
- Your permanent driving record will reflect a careless driving conviction.
How Lucero Law Can Help
When faced with a criminal charge for careless driving, we can help in the following ways:
- Explain the legal process.
- Explain your rights.
- Help you potentially get the charges dismissed (in certain circumstances).
- Analyze your case for potential defenses.
- Help you reduce charges to lesser ones if you do not have a strong defense case.
- Represent you in court and be your voice.
- Function as your guide and legal advocate throughout your entire case.
“Attorney Lucero represented me in court and kept me informed during the process. He was honest and his one time fee was reasonable, compared to other attorneys I spoke to.”- Stewart
“I was a bit overwhelmed with my traffic ticket situation. Ike put me at ease got my tickets dropped and kept me on the road without issue.”- Corey
“I would recommend Ike to anyone requesting a traffic lawyer, and he will be the first person I call if I get into another legal situation.”- Shawn
Why Hire Ike Lucero, Jr.?
High Moral and Ethical Values
Work with Attorney Ike Lucero, Jr. through your entire case
Same Day Appointments Available