License Suspension Lawyer in Pueblo, CO
Driving on a suspended license is illegal in Colorado. Many individuals pulled over for speeding or some other moving violation also face a suspended license violation. This can occur because the driver didn’t know his or her license was suspended. However, lack of knowledge is no defense. Drivers in Colorado are expected to maintain their current address with the DMV so notices of this nature will reach them.
If you are facing such a situation, need help getting a probationary license, or getting your license reinstated after serving out your suspension, Lucero Law can help. Our attorney has assisted helped countless individuals with license suspension issues in Pueblo as well as in the surrounding counties of Huerfano, El Paso, Crowley, Otero, Bent, and Fremont. With years of experience, we are well-versed in handling all types of traffic cases and have achieved positive results for clients since 2014.
Drivers in Colorado can lose their licenses through suspensions or revocations. Suspensions are generally temporary while revocations are more serious and may even be permanent. When your license is suspended, it can be reinstated with the DMV. However, if it is revoked you will have to apply for a new license after your revocation period ends.
License suspensions can occur due to the following reasons:
- DUI convictions
- Refusal to submit to a chemical test on suspicion of DUI
- Too many demerit points on your driving record
- Driving without insurance
- Unpaid traffic tickets
- Failure to appear in court for a traffic case
- Failure to pay child support
- Criminal convictions
Accumulation of too many demerit points on your driving record is a common scenario that leads to license suspensions. These accumulations are based on your age. Adults can face an automatic suspension after accumulating 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months. Drivers aged 16 – 17 can lose their license after accruing six points in 12 months while drivers aged 18 – 20 will face license suspensions after accruing nine points in 12 months or 12 points in 24 months.
Driving on a suspended or revoked license can result in a misdemeanor carrying a maximum penalty of six months of jail time and a fine of up to $500. Subsequent convictions within five years can lead to the loss of your license for three years. If you are found driving on a license that was suspended due to DUI, you face a minimum of 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
When cited for a traffic violation, you should research how many active points you have on your driving record before you decide to pay it and move on. Once you pay your traffic fine, you are “convicted” and the DMV will add the applicable points to your record. This could lead to an automatic license suspension.
In any license suspension matter, our firm can provide the assistance you need. We are experienced with the local court system as well as with representing clients in DMV hearings.
“Attorney Lucero represented me in court and kept me informed during the process. He was honest and his one time fee was reasonable, compared to other attorneys I spoke to.”- Stewart
“I was a bit overwhelmed with my traffic ticket situation. Ike put me at ease got my tickets dropped and kept me on the road without issue.”- Corey
“I would recommend Ike to anyone requesting a traffic lawyer, and he will be the first person I call if I get into another legal situation.”- Shawn
Why Hire Ike Lucero, Jr.?
High Moral and Ethical Values
Work with Attorney Ike Lucero, Jr. through your entire case
Same Day Appointments Available